The Chamberlain Files | Homepage
Labour names final shadow ministerial team – top jobs for Birmingham MPs

Labour names final shadow ministerial team – top jobs for Birmingham MPs

🕔19.May 2015

Labour has confirmed its final shadow ministerial line up following the General Election, and there are key jobs for Birmingham and West Midlands politicians, writes Paul Dale.

Ladywood MP Shabana Mahmood is Shadow Chief Secretary at the Treasury. Jack Dromey (Erdington) is Shadow Minister at the Home Office as is Liam Byrne (Hodge Hill) at the Department for Business Innovation and Skills.

Steve McCabe (Selly Oak) is a junior education minister.

Richard Burden (Northfield) is a junior transport minister.

Lord Philip Hunt is a shadow health minister and Labour’s deputy leader in the Lords.

Warley MP John Spellar and Wolverhampton South East MP Pat McFadden are shadow ministers at the Foreign Office.

The Shadow ministerial team is likely to be reshuffled again following the election of Labour’s new leader and deputy leader in September.

The full shadow ministerial list is as follows:

Leader of the Opposition

Rt Hon Harriet Harman MP
Karen Buck MP (PPS)
Wayne David MP (PPS)

Culture, Media and Sport

Chris Bryant MP
Clive Efford MP
Lord (Wilf) Stevenson
Baroness (Glenys) Thornton


Chris Leslie MP
Shabana Mahmood MP
Catherine McKinnell MP
Alison McGovern MP
Barbara Keeley MP
Rt Hon Lord (Bryan) Davies
Lord (Neil) Davidson
Rt Hon Lord (Andrew) Adonis

Foreign and Commonwealth Office

Rt Hon Hilary Benn MP
Rt Hon John Spellar MP
Rt Hon Pat McFadden MP
Kerry McCarthy MP
Lord (Willy) Bach
Baroness (Eluned) Morgan

Home Office

Rt Hon Yvette Cooper MP
Jack Dromey MP
Rt Hon David Hanson MP
Diana Johnson MP
Seema Malhotra MP
Rt Hon Baroness (Angela) Smith
Lord (Richard) Rosser


Rt Hon Lord (Charlie) Falconer QC
Stephen Twigg MP
Andy Slaughter MP
Jenny Chapman MP
Dan Jarvis MP
Lord (Jeremy) Beecham


Rt Hon Andy Burnham MP
Liz Kendall MP
Luciana Berger MP
Andrew Gwynne MP
Jamie Reed MP
Rt Hon Lord (Philip) Hunt
Rt Hon Lord (Keith) Bradley

Business, Innovation and Skills

Chuka Umunna MP
Rt Hon Liam Byrne MP
Iain Wright MP
Toby Perkins MP
Stella Creasy MP
Lord (Wilf) Stevenson
Lord (Tony) Young
Baroness (Dianne) Hayter

Work and Pensions

Rachel Reeves MP
Rt Hon Stephen Timms MP
Helen Goodman MP
Kate Green MP
Baroness (Maeve) Sherlock
Rt Hon Lord (Keith) Bradley


Tristram Hunt MP
Kevin Brennan MP
Steve McCabe MP
Sharon Hodgson MP (joint with W&E)
John Woodcock MP
Baroness (Maggie) Jones


Vernon Coaker MP
Kevan Jones MP
Yvonne Fovargue MP
Ian Lucas MP
Lord (Richard) Rosser

Communities and Local Government

Emma Reynolds MP
Roberta Blackman-Woods MP
Lyn Brown MP
Steve Reed MP
Lord (Bill) McKenzie
Lord (Jeremy) Beecham

Energy and Climate Change

Rt Hon Caroline Flint MP
Jonathan Reynolds MP
Julie Elliott MP
Baroness (Bryony) Worthington

Leader of the House of Commons

Angela Eagle MP (also Chair of the National Policy Forum)
Nic Dakin MP (Also Whip)


Michael Dugher MP
Lilian Greenwood MP
Gordon Marsden MP
Richard Burden MP
Rt Hon Lord (Bryan) Davies
Lord (Richard) Rosser

Northern Ireland

Ivan Lewis MP
Stephen Pound MP
Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy

International Development

Mary Creagh MP
Gavin Shuker MP
Lord (Ray) Collins


Ian Murray MP
Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy


Owen Smith MP
Nia Griffith MP
Baroness (Eluned) Morgan

Environment, Food and Rural Affairs

Maria Eagle MP
Barry Gardiner MP
Angela Smith MP
Lord (John) Grantchester

Cabinet Office

Lucy Powell MP
Jon Ashworth MP
Chi Onwurah MP
Lisa Nandy MP
Baroness (Dianne) Hayter

Minister w/o Portfolio and Deputy Party Chair

Jon Trickett MP

Women and Equalities Office
Gloria De Piero MP
Sharon Hodgson MP (Also Education)
Baroness (Glenys) Thornton

Law Officers

Lord (Willy) Bach
Karl Turner MP (Also Whip)
Lord (Neil) Davidson QC (Adv. Gen. Scotland)

Leader of the House of Lords
Rt Hon Baroness (Jan) Royall
Rt Hon Lord (Philip) Hunt (Deputy Leader)

Whips Office

House of Commons

Chief Whip

Opposition Chief Whip, Rt Hon Rosie Winterton MP


Alan Campbell MP
Mark Tami MP (Pairing Whip)
Heidi Alexander MP
Graham Jones MP
Tom Blenkinsop MP
Susan Elan-Jones MP
Phil Wilson MP
Karl Turner MP (Also Solicitor General)
Nic Dakin MP (Also Deputy Leader of House)
Bridget Phillipson MP
Stephen Doughty MP

House of Lords

Chief Whip

Rt Hon Lord (Steve) Bassam of Brighton

Deputy Chief Whips

Rt Hon Baroness (Angela) Smith
Lord (Denis) Tunnicliffe

Senior Whips

Rt Hon Lord (Tommy) McAvoy
Baroness (Margaret) Wheeler


Lord (Ray) Collins
Lord (John) Grantchester
Baroness (Dianne) Hayter
Lord (Roy) Kennedy
Baroness (Oona) King
Lord (Jon) Mendelsohn
Baroness (Eluned) Morgan
Baroness (Maeve) Sherlock
Lord (Wilf) Stevenson
Baroness (Bryony) Worthington

Similar Articles

Farewell Deadly Doug

Farewell Deadly Doug 0

So, farewell Deadly Doug. I doubt professional football will see his like again, writes Andy

Review: investment points to success, but skills challenge remains

Review: investment points to success, but skills challenge remains 0

Current investment in infrastructure and technology will underpin future economic success in Birmingham, according to

Stop bidding, begging & bowing to Treasury – but how?

Stop bidding, begging & bowing to Treasury – but how? 0

One October long ago, shortly before England won the World Cup, my first final-year undergraduate

HS2 reveals design vision for new stations

HS2 reveals design vision for new stations 0

HS2 is today releasing images of of its two brand new stations in Birmingham and

‘Illegal budgets’ – I’m no Corbynista, but this was media mischief

‘Illegal budgets’ – I’m no Corbynista, but this was media mischief 0

I wasn’t going to bother.  I mean, if you get into a state every time

About Author

Chamberlain Files Weekly

Don't miss a thing! Sign up for our free weekly summary of the Chamberlain Files from RJF Public Affairs.
* = required field

powered by MailChimp!

Our latest tweets

Published by

Published by


Our community